Board Members

Andrea McQuitty (Appointed as President and Chair 12th November 2016)

Andrea McQuitty

Andrea hails from Tasmania and has been heavily involved in the sport both at a State level and Nationally

Andrea has served as a Development Officer, Board Member, Chair of the Slalom and Wildwater Committee for Canoe Tasmania. She was co-organiser of the 2009 Wildwater World Cup, she has been on the organising committee for numerous National Champs, all while being a competitor, WW coach extraordinaire, mother, Wildside MTB organiser and Cataract Extreme organiser.

Claude Harran (Appointed as Vice Chair 12th November 2016)

Claude HarranClaude joins Australian Canoeing having extensive experience as an in-house lawyer. He currently forms part of a new legal team at Nissan Australia but has had previous roles with v8 Supercars, Mercedes-Benz, Kraft Foods and Toyota. During his time as an in-house lawyer, Claude has had exposure to a range of corporate and commercial matters and involvement in internal controls. Claude is excited by his appointment to the Australian Canoeing Board as an Independent Director and the road ahead. He is looking forward to the challenges involved embracing our sport and combining his passion for applying his legal skills in a sporting environment.

Appointed as an Independent Director 21st July 2014.

Ken Wallace (Appointed as a Director (Athlete Representative) 11th November 2012)

The 28 year old Surf Lifesaver from the Gold Coast, Queensland, was the star of the 2008 Olympics in Beijing, leading the Australian charge by winning gold in the men’s K1 500 and bronze in the K1 1000. Ken went on to win the AIS Athlete of the Year, Sunday Telegraph Athlete of the Year and Gold Coast Athlete of the Year awards

Ian Hume (Appointed as a Director 25th October 2014)

Ian, the former Executive Officer of South Australia is involved in all aspects of canoeing in Adelaide and across Australia. Ian is a key part of the organisation team for National and State sprint regattas and has devoted countless hours, days and weeks to volunteering on the side of the river or lake.

Connie Todaro (Appointed as a Director 12th November 2016)

Connie joins Australian Canoeing with her appointment as a director at the 2016 Annual General Meeting. Connie, is a CPA and will bring a wealth of knowledge from her corporate experience. Connie has been involved on Committees at both State and National level. These include a former Director on the Canoeing Victoria Board; former member of the Australian Canoeing (AC) Nominations Committee; current member of the AC Audit & Risk Committee and AC Marathon Racing Technical Committee.

Tony Haines (Appointed as a Director 11th April 2017)

Tony joins Australian Canoeing with his appointment as a director in 2017. Tony has an extensive background in marketing, including:

• Consulting on Digital Commercial and Market strategies within the Media industry

• Building, coaching & maintaining high-performance teams within a complex logistical selling environment

• Creating group plans based on strategy and tactics

• Adept and confident in the corporate arena; consulting and pitching proposals to Industry Groups, Agency Directors, clients and key decision-makers

• Exceptional senior and middle ranked relationships with contacts across Media Companies; NSW Media Agencies and many major Marketing Brands/Clients and Creative Agencies

Previous Board Members


Directors Retired since 1997  (1).

  1. Mr James Hunter – 1st January 1997 – 18th October 1998.
  2. Ms Donna Blay – 1st January 1997 – 1st November 1998.
  3. Ms Helen Brownlee OAM – 1st January 1997 – 17th October 1999.
  4. Mr Martin Finn – 1st January 1997 – 3rd July 2001.
  5. Mr Wennie van Lint – 19th October 1997 – 28th October 2001.
  6. Mr Peter Tedesco – 5th December 2001 – 15th May 2002.
  7. Mr Jon Bisset – 13th January 1997 – 31st October 2002  (2).
  8. Ms Noelene Stevenson – 19th October 2002 – 14th September 2004.
  9. Mr Graham Halford – 28th October 2001 – 13th November 2004.
  10. Mrs Gai Ness – 10th May 2000 – 12th November 2005
  11. Mr Rick Mingramm – 13th November 2004 – 11th January 2006
  12. Mrs Donna Jones – 12th November 2005 – 17th January 2006
  13. Mr Peter Vandepeer – 18th October 1998 – 31st January 2006
  14. Mr Robin Belcher – 13th February 1999 – 31st January 2006
  15. Mr Greg Kaeding – 1st January 1997 – 31st January 2006
  16. Mr Peter Heeley – 31st January 2006 – 5th April 2007
  17. Mr Justin Quill – 31st January 2006 – 29th April 2007
  18. Mr Ian Muir – 5th April 2007 – 19th March 2008
  19. Mr David Lunn – 29th April 2007 – 25th May 2009
  20. Mrs Shelley Oates-Wilding – 30th July 2008 – 14th November 2009 and 13th January 2010 – 12th May 2010
  21. Mr Jim Murphy OAM – 31st January 2006 – 11th November 2012
  22. Prof Keith Lyons – 14th November 2009 – 17th June 2013
  23. Ms Catherine Ordway – 11th April 2012 – 19th May 2014
  24. Mr James Rennell – (As Independent Director) 2nd July 2009 – 20th June 2014
  25. Mr Robbie Stewart – 15th October 2008 – 25th October 2014
  26. Ms Danielle Woodward – (As President and Chair) 15th November 2008 – 12th November 2016
  27. Mr Martyn Clancy-Lowe – 29th April 2007 – 12th November 2016
  28. Mrs Anita Taylor – 17th March 2015 – 29th May 2017
  29. Mr James Rennell 25th October 2014 – 5th November 2017


(1) Prior to 1st January 1997 Australian Canoeing was governed by a Council and an Executive Council. A Board of Directors was elected with Directors terms beginning on the 1st January 1997.
(2) Jon Bisset was an ex-officio Director as a virtue of his appointment as AC General Manager. Jon ceased to be a Director as a result of a change to the AC Constitution that came into effect on the 1st November 2002. Jon continued to be CEO following this date until the 8th April 2005.