Welcome to the Fifteenth Australian Canoeing Recreation Newsletter.  If there is any addition that you would like to see in this newsletter please let me know. Also if you have any contents that you would like to submit please feel free to email.

education@canoe.org.au

---

This Issue

Feature App: Paddle Log

ACAS news: Skill and Rescue awards now require FREE renewal

New Gear/Gadget:  Werner Shuna paddle

Feature Craft: NDK Quantum

Feature Location:  Barnard Island Group - Tropical North Queensland

Feature Club:  Find a club

Useful links

---

Feature App: Paddle Log

On 1st March 2018 paddle log will be the only system that can be used to renew Australian Canoeing awards. The version that allows renewals direct from the app is in the final rounds of testing and will be available in the coming weeks. 

Paddle Log is available at

https://paddlelog.canoe.org.au/

or on Apple and Andriod

https://canoe.org.au/paddle-log/

---

ACAS news: 

All AC skills, endorsement and rescue awards.

These awards in the past have not required a renewal every three years as some of these awards have had no expiry date. 

As these awards are used in many applications as proof of skills and knowledge, it is important that these awards demonstrate the holder has maintained the skills and knowledge they had to gain the award in the first instance.

The best way to show this is through a logbook and re-registration. 

These awards (except Basic Skills awards) will now require a free renewal every 3 years by the submission of a logbook that validates the required points (50 points), 

and the details of a peer (holds the same award of higher) who confirms that your skills and knowledge have been maintained. 

The cost of the renewal is FREE.

As from March 1 2018, renewal of all awards will only be accepted via the Paddle Log mobile app or Paddle Log desktop app.

Paddle log is currently in the final testing stage to enable renewals direct from the app. (This will be in place before the 1st March)

Paddle Log is available on Apple and Android, details can be found here and also on desktop which can be found at: https://paddlelog.canoe.org.au/

Process: 

If you hold one of these awards and it does not have an expiry date, an expiry date will be added to the award in your profile. The expiry of this award will depend on when the award was gained. 

To view the details of your award you will need to refresh your awards in Paddle log or view your profile on the education system here

If you have forgotten your username and password please click here and select the 'CAN'T LOG IN " TAB 

---
Expedition kayaks

New Gear/Gadget:
Werner Shuna paddle

www.seacandy.com.au

Did you know the legendary Werner Shuna paddle comes in a four, two and one piece version? You can almost be guaranteed to be loaned a heavy and awkward clunker of a paddle on an interstate or overseas trip. I bought my four piece Shuna to fly with as it can fit safely in my pack and as an added bonus no more extra baggage charges. I get a lot of enjoyment and confidence from using my high quality Werner Shuna paddle so I'm pleased to be able to take one wherever I go. It's also a very good pack rafting paddle.Werner paddles are available from... Sea Candy Sea kayaking 

---

Feature craft: NDK Quantum

www.seacandy.com.au

The super-new, fast sea kayak design, NDK Quantum landed in Brisbane from Wales last week! This is a Swede form fast tourer that paddles beautifully unloaded too. It has a unique rudder system that retracts into the stern for safety during rescues, surf landings and play. It is a stable, confidence inspiring kayak with a lively feel suitable for all skill levels. Advanced paddlers will appreciate the hull design that paddles well without the rudder and responds well to edging and surfing ocean waves.The Quantum is available through Sea Candy Sea Kayaking.

 

---

Feature location: Barnard Island Group - Tropical North Queensland

Tableland Adventure Guides

The Barnard Island Group is the traditional 'sea country' of the local Mamu Aboriginal people.  It lies 5 to 10 km offshore, 90 km south of Cairns in the Great Barrier Reef World Heritage Area.  The island archipelago features outstanding rock formations and diverse landforms, including shallow reefs, sand spits, beaches and dense rainforest-clad slopes. They also host important seabird rookeries. Brilliant for a sea kayak adventures and island camping!

 

---

Feature Club: Find all AC affiliated clubs here

http://canoe.org.au/clubs/

---

Useful links      

Australian Canoeing www.canoe.org.au

Finding a club www.canoe.org.au/clubs

Paddle Prep www.canoe.org.au/paddle-prep

Paddle OZ www.paddleoz.canoe.org.au

Waterways Guide www.waterwaysguide.org.au

Global Paddler http://globalpaddler.com.au/

Recreation Events www.canoe.org.au/calendar/calendar-recreational-events

Craft and equipment

Expedition Kayaks www.expeditionkayaks.com

Jervis Bay Kayaks www.jervisbaykayaks.com

Rosco Canoes www.roscocanoes.com.au

Moxie Gear www.moxiegear.com.au

Ocean Wilderness Sea Kayaking www.oceanwilderness.com.au

Adventure Outlet www.adventureoutlet.com.au

Canoes Plus: www.canoesplus.com.au

East Coast Kayaking: www.eastcoastkayaking.com.au

Sea Candy: www.seacandy.com.au

Natureline: www.natureline.com.au

Paddle and Portage Canoes: www.paddleportagecanoes.com.au

Lazy Paddles: www.lazypaddles.com.au

Commercial trips

Freedom Outdoors www.freedomoutdoors.com.au  

Adventure Outlet www.adventureoutlet.com.au/tours

Kajakknord www.kajakknord.no

RegionX www.regionx.com.au

Sea Kayak Jervis Bay www.seakayakjervisbay.com 

Life's an Adventure http://www.lifesanadventure.com.au/tour/days-tours/sydney-guided-tours/

Redlands kayak tours: www.redlandskayaktours.com.au

Adventure Kayaking SA: www.adventurekayak.com.au

Sea kayak Australia:  www.seakayakaustralia.com

East Coast Kayaking: www.eastcoastkayaking.com.au

The School of Yak: www.schoolofyak.com.au

Bay and Beyond Sea kayak tours: www.bayandbeyond.com.au

Ballina Kayaks: www.ballinakayaks.com

Canoe Adventures Riverland SA: www.canoeadventure.com.au

Tableland adventure guides: www.tablelandadventureguides.com.au

Coral Sea Kayaking: www.coralseakayaking.com

 

---