Welcome to the Thirteenth Australian Canoeing Recreation Newsletter.  If there is any addition that you would like to see in this newsletter please let me know. Also if you have any contents that you would like to submit please feel free to email.



This Issue

Feature App: Paddle Log, Now on Desktop

Natureline news: New ownership

New Gear/Gadget:  NEW!!! Luci Outdoor 2.0 Inflatable Solar Light

Feature Craft: Dreamweaver by Natureline Australia

Feature Location:  Koong Burry Bay – Illawarra, NSW

Feature Club:  Find a club

Useful links


Feature App: Paddle Log

Now available on desktop.


or on Apple and Andriod


Paddle Log is user friendly logbook with the ability to copy and edit past activities. It will encourage users to keep their logbook current at all times on their mobile device. The data recorded is suitable for submission to Australian Canoeing when applying for an ACAS award. 


Natureline news:

After buying Natureline Australia, a 30 year old composite canoe & kayak manufacturing business, from Kerry Richards in April this year, the factory and showroom are now open at Murarrie.

Natureline Australia provides quality handmade craft and accessories, repairs, hires and lessons and participates actively in the local paddling community. The team is made up from three paddling partners, two obsessive composite technicians and one dog. A lot has happened in the first month. In and amongst pumping out new craft, the new team has already been inundated with small and big repairs to sea kayaks, canoes, OC1s and even a car fairing.

Testing the new Dreamweaver 15ft canoe on the upper Brisbane River was a success and attending the Wetlands Wander Paddle Race at Shorncliffe a great opportunity to chat with paddlers on the day.

To keep up to date, call, drop in, send an email or check out FB or the website. Enquiries and visits from the public, schools, scouts, outdoor education centers, commercial operators and dealers are very welcome.

Natureline Australia, 1/15 Administration Road, Murarrie, Qld 4172 ph: 0434 851 802 canoes@natureline.com.au www.canoes@natureline.com.au FB@naturelinecanoes


Expedition kayaks

New Gear/Gadget: NEW!!! Luci Outdoor 2.0 Inflatable Solar Light


The Luci lights have been around for awhile now and those who have them have many whilst those without want one when they see them! For paddlers, the Luci Outdoor is the most popular model of the Luci series as it provides the brightest light so it can be used for night paddling. Paddling campers leave the Luci on the deck to charge in the sun whilst paddling for a guaranteed bright evening ahead. Luci lights are waterproof and lightweight and collapse to very small when deflated. The new Luci Outdoor 2.0 has 4x light settings and an adjustable base strap. It charges in full in 7 hours and lasts 18 hours on the low setting.



Feature craft: Dreamweaver by Natureline Australia


Since taking over Natureline Australia from Kerry Richards in April the new team have moved the factory and showroom to the new location at Murarrie, adjacent to the Gateway Bridge on the southern bank of the Brisbane River. From here they offer a range of composite canoes and kayaks, accessories, repairs, hires and lessons. The first craft off the production line is the Dreamweaver, a revamped version of the 15ft canoe previously known as the Outback. Its stylish looks with vinyl covered seats and PVC gunwales complement the level of performance you can expect from this fibreglass craft. Stable, responsive and forgiving, the Dreamweaver makes all the right moves. The Dreamweaver is suitable for flat water use by paddlers of all abilities with uses ranging from day trips, overnighters and longer expeditions. The craft can be adapted to include a middle seat, fishing rods, outriggers, sails and a motor.


Feature location: Koong Burry Bay – Illawarra, NSW

Global Paddler

Koong Burry Bay is the hub of an adventure which explores two secluded creeks, circumnavigates two amazing islands, takes in a World War II installation, visits an inspirational “Place of Healing”, and even offers the possibility of a paranormal experience with a couple of ghosts.


Feature Club: Find all AC affiliated clubs here



Useful links      

Australian Canoeing www.canoe.org.au

Finding a club www.canoe.org.au/clubs

Paddle Prep www.canoe.org.au/paddle-prep

Paddle OZ www.paddleoz.canoe.org.au

Waterways Guide www.waterwaysguide.org.au

Global Paddler http://globalpaddler.com.au/

Recreation Events www.canoe.org.au/calendar/calendar-recreational-events

Craft and equipment

Expedition Kayaks www.expeditionkayaks.com

Jervis Bay Kayaks www.jervisbaykayaks.com

Rosco Canoes www.roscocanoes.com.au

Moxie Gear www.moxiegear.com.au

Ocean Wilderness Sea Kayaking www.oceanwilderness.com.au

Adventure Outlet www.adventureoutlet.com.au

Canoes Plus: www.canoesplus.com.au

East Coast Kayaking: www.eastcoastkayaking.com.au

Sea Candy: www.seacandy.com.au

Natureline: www.natureline.com.au

Commercial trips

Freedom Outdoors www.freedomoutdoors.com.au  

Adventure Outlet www.adventureoutlet.com.au/tours

Kajakknord www.kajakknord.no

RegionX www.regionx.com.au

Sea Kayak Jervis Bay www.seakayakjervisbay.com 

Life's an Adventure http://www.lifesanadventure.com.au/tour/days-tours/sydney-guided-tours/

Redlands kayak tours: www.redlandskayaktours.com.au

Adventure Kayaking SA: www.adventurekayak.com.au

Sea kayak Australia:  www.seakayakaustralia.com

East Coast Kayaking: www.eastcoastkayaking.com.au

The School of Yak: www.schoolofyak.com.au