Welcome to the Tenth Australian Canoeing Recreation Newsletter.  If there is any addition that you would like to see in this newsletter please let me know. Also if you have any contents that you would like to submit please feel free to email.



This Issue

Feature App: Paddle Log

New Gear/Gadget: Shelta Griffin Performnce Sun Hat

Feature Craft: Valley Sirona 15’10 Kayak

Feature Location:  Whitsundays

Paddling Skills:  Paddling Technique Guide

Feature Club: Onkaparinga Canoe Club

Feature Book/Video: Gone for Shore

Useful links


Feature App: Paddle Log


Paddle Log is user friendly logbook with the ability to copy and edit past activities. It will encourage users to keep their logbook current at all times on their mobile device. The data recorded is suitable for submission to Australian Canoeing when applying for an ACAS award. 

Expedition kayaks

New Gear/Gadget: Shelta Griffin Performnce Sun Hat


A streamlined look with a mid-width brim for those who would like more UV protection for the ears. The Griffin offers Shelta-tech construction, featuring technical breathable fabric, perspiration absorbing mesh liner & heat releasing vents. These features help keep the head cooler under hot and active conditions. Sweat dripping into the eyes is not an issue and along with the Winged Vision Visor and Convertible Cord System this style works for most sports & conditions.

Pace 17

Feature craft: Valley Sirona 15’10 Kayak


A more compact design than the Sirona 16'10, designed for lighter paddlers. This boat has all of the famed handling of the cult Avocet LV, with a lirttle more capacity for carrying gear, in a genuine small person's kayak


Feature location: Whitsundays


The Whitsunday Islands are a treasure trove of sea kayaking experiences. The visit to Paddle Bay on South Molle Island is a family friendly/novice excursion that can be a day trip or a week long holiday. Visit pages 80-81 in the book Gone for Shore for maps, photos and details. Leave from Shute Harbour. The little beach to the east of the boat ramp is the best departure point. It has water, a shelter shed and access to all but the lowest of tides. There is a public toilet in the carpark. Paddle Bay has a huge shelter shed, a toilet, picnic tables and access to excellent walking tracks. In good conditions there is good snorkelling off the beach here and oysters on the low tide towards mid-Molle Island. There are great opportunities to day paddles from here to the small islands adjoining South Molle. It is not much more than an hour paddle to get to the campsite from Shute Harbour.


Paddling Skill: Paddling Technique Guide

AC "{Paddle Your Own" resource


Feature Club: Onkaparinga Canoe Club



Feature Book/Video:


 Gone for Shore one for Shore offers a very unique perspective of one of the most spectacularly beautiful regions on the planet – the tropical coastline of northern Queensland and the islands and reefs of Australia’s Great Barrier Reef. From a sea kayak, Tim Trehearn has captured a view not often seen of this precious, world-famous region – a window to a paradise.

Forty years of experience in these waters informs this book, with advice and ideas that will open the door to adventures for both experienced and novice sea-kayaking enthusiasts. 

Much of this family-friendly book chronicles Tim’s sea-kayaking adventures with his wife and children – Mary Frances, Connor and Malindi – and friends. As well as providing advice on preparing for trips, the book describes possible kayaking routes. These route ideas range from day trips, to short multi-day excursions, to long adventures. Maps detail locations, points of interest and available facilities.

Chris Wighton is a friend and an enthusiastic sea kayaker … and he is paraplegic. He gives a thoughtful insight into why kayaking this beautiful region is important to him.

This book would suit sea kayakers of all levels of ability, or anyone curious to see this special region through the eyes of a sea kayaker.


Useful links      

Australian Canoeing www.canoe.org.au

Finding a club www.canoe.org.au/clubs

Paddle Prep www.canoe.org.au/paddle-prep

Paddle OZ www.paddleoz.canoe.org.au

Waterways Guide www.waterwaysguide.org.au

Global Paddler http://globalpaddler.com.au/

Recreation Events www.canoe.org.au/calendar/calendar-recreational-events

Craft and equipment

Expedition Kayaks www.expeditionkayaks.com

Jervis Bay Kayaks www.jervisbaykayaks.com

Rosco Canoes www.roscocanoes.com.au

Moxie Gear www.moxiegear.com.au

Ocean Wilderness Sea Kayaking www.oceanwilderness.com.au

Adventure Outlet www.adventureoutlet.com.au

Velocity watersports Australia: www.velocitywatersports.com.au

East Coast Kayaking: www.eastcoastkayaking.com.au

Commercial trips

Freedom Outdoors www.freedomoutdoors.com.au  

Adventure Outlet www.adventureoutlet.com.au/tours

Kajakknord www.kajakknord.no

RegionX www.regionx.com.au

Sea Kayak Jervis Bay www.seakayakjervisbay.com 

 Life's an Adventure http://www.lifesanadventure.com.au/tour/days-tours/sydney-guided-tours/

Redlands kayak tours: www.redlandskayaktours.com.au

Adventure Kayaking SA: www.adventurekayak.com.au

Sea kayak Australia:  www.seakayakaustralia.com

East Coast Kayaking: www.eastcoastkayaking.com.au

The School of Yak: www.schoolofyak.com.au