Welcome to the Seventh Australian Canoeing Recreation Newsletter.  If there is any addition that you would like to see in this newsletter please let me know. Also if you have any contents that you would like to submit please feel free to email.



This Issue

Up coming event: Reel Paddling Film Festival 

Feature app: Knots

New Gear/Gadget:  Navisafe Bendable Suction Mount

Feature craft: Mission Flow

Feature location: Nelbuck Island

Paddling skills: Bow draw

Feature Club: Northeast Canoe Club

Feature Book/Video: The Paddlers Guide to New South Wales 2nd Edition

Useful links


Up coming eventReel Paddling Film Festival 

Since 2006, the Reel Paddling Film Festival World Tour has been showcasing the very best paddling films. The World Tour screens in more than 120 cities around the world. Join us for this year’s best paddling films. You’ll be inspired to explore rivers, lakes and oceans, push extremes, embrace the paddling lifestyle and appreciate the wild places.



Feature App: Knots


#1 Knot App on iTunes!!! Now with 103 knots and continuous new additions!
An App Store Essentials "Weekend Warriors DIY" PICK!

Expedition kayaks

New Gear/Gadget: Navisafe Bendable Suction Mount


Designed to fit the Navisafe Navilight, the bendable suction mount provides a free standing mount for an already versatile product.

• Versatile quick-release suction mount allows for easy placement on multiple surfaces. The bendable stem can be bent up to 180 degrees. 

• Standard Navisafe Navilight attachment.

Pace 17

Feature craft: Mission Flow


The Flow is designed for recreational use on flat water or surf. It is a stable, fun craft that is easy to paddle and easy to transport. It suits beginners, kids and small adults who are looking for a small & lightweight craf for shorter paddles


Feature location: Nelbuck Island

Nelbuck Island is in the Bulyong Island section of the Murray River National Park. The waters that surround it are a combination of small secluded creeks and the magnificent Murray River. These same waters also provide a barrier to entry by road or on foot. It’s a brilliant place to paddle and camp.

For more information you can go to https://globalpaddler.com.au/paddle-guides/sa/r/nelbuck-island/


Paddling Skill: Bow Draw

This stroke is performed when you are in a stationary position and is used to turn the front of your kayak towards the paddle.

Place the paddle in the water two feet out from your toes and pull the blade in towards the front of your kayak

Once you get six inches from your kayak, rotate your wrist and slice the blade back out to the start position and repeat.


Feature Club: North East Canoe Club



Feature Book/Video: The Paddlers Guide to New South Wales 2nd Edition


Special: 10% off all Global Paddler guidebooks for any Australian Canoeing member who places an order by forwarding this edition the newsletter to guides@globalpaddler.com.au by 5th October.

The Paddler’s Guide to New South Wales 2nd Edition is a paddling guidebook published in November 2015. The expert advice and guides contained in The Paddler’s Guide to New South Wales 1st Edition have been revised, updated and enhanced for this new book, and a massive 140 paddling destinations have been included. Other improvements include easier-to-use trip locator maps, fishing information and recommended places to eat, drink and stay the night.

Australia’s “first state” is home to lush sub-tropical rainforests, soaring alpine peaks, sun-kissed outback landscapes, delightful rural countryside, the nation’s capital territory and the most beautiful harbour city on earth. The Paddler’s Guide to New South Wales 2nd Edition is the ultimate companion for seeing this amazing part of the world from the water. It is a glossy, full colour, 480 page, handy A5 size guidebook that includes:

– 140 paddling trips – descriptions, maps, GPS coordinates

– Trip locator maps

– Historical information and local points of interest

– Recommended places to east, drink and stay the night

– Expert equipment advice – kayaks, canoes, stand up paddleboards, fishing, transport

– Preparation advice

– Over 420 full-colour photos


Useful links      

Australian Canoeing www.canoe.org.au

Finding a club www.canoe.org.au/clubs

Paddle Prep www.canoe.org.au/paddle-prep

Paddle OZ www.paddleoz.canoe.org.au

Waterways Guide www.waterwaysguide.org.au

Global Paddler http://globalpaddler.com.au/

Recreation Events www.canoe.org.au/calendar/calendar-recreational-events

Craft and equipment

Expedition Kayaks www.expeditionkayaks.com

Jervis Bay Kayaks www.jervisbaykayaks.com

Rosco Canoes www.roscocanoes.com.au

Moxie Gear www.moxiegear.com.au

Ocean Wilderness Sea Kayaking www.oceanwilderness.com.au

Adventure Outlet www.adventureoutlet.com.au

Commercial trips

Freedom Outdoors www.freedomoutdoors.com.au  

Adventure Outlet www.adventureoutlet.com.au/tours

Kajakknord www.kajakknord.no

RegionX www.regionx.com.au

Sea Kayak Jervis Bay www.seakayakjervisbay.com 

 Life's an Adventure http://www.lifesanadventure.com.au/tour/days-tours/sydney-guided-tours/

Redlands kayak tours: www.redlandskayaktours.com.au

Adventure Kayaking SA: www.adventurekayak.com.au