Olympic Hopes Team Announcement

Canoe Sprint / Canoe Sprint Team / General / Mar 18, 2016

Following the completion of selection trials, Australian Canoeing would like to congratulate the following athletes who have been selected to the Olympic Hopes Canoe Sprint Team to compete at the Junior Olympic Hopes Regatta in Szeged, Hungary from 23 to 25 September.

This year’s Olympic Hopes team will be made up of 27 athletes from four states.

New South Wales has the highest representation of athletes with 10 followed by Queensland with nine. South Australia and Western Australia have four a piece.

The Olympic Hopes team provides talented young paddlers with the perfect pathway to gain international racing experience which will hopefully see them progress into the junior, under-23 and senior national teams in the coming years.

17 Years Men Kayak – Angus Schmidt (NSW), Liam Farrell (NSW), George Rugless (SA), Dodge Newton (NSW), Toby Digney (WA) and Caleb Bushby (WA).

17 Years Women Kayak –  Hannah Tatlock (SA), Erin Blanch (QLD), Kelsey Goldner (SA), Caitlin Callahan (NSW) and Isabella Gill (QLD).

15/16 Years Men Kayak – Jack Birt (NSW), Matthew Greed (WA), Jesse Ellis (SA), Lachlan Bancroft (QLD), Jacob Gardner (NSW), Harry Armstrong (NSW), Byron Chadwick (NSW), Jonathan Gray (QLD) and Tasman Farrell (NSW).

15/16 Years Women Kayak – Mackenzie Duffy (QLD), Sophie Butler (QLD), Alicia Fay (QLD), Yasemin Ray (WA), Gabrielle Parker (QLD), Tiarnee Massie (QLD) and Mya Harvey (NSW).

2016 Canoe Sprint Olympic Hopes Team

Photo credit – Sportscene


You might also like