National Canoe Sprint Championships – Saturday highlights

Canoe Sprint / General / Paracanoe / Mar 5, 2016

Day four of the National Canoe Sprint Championships produced some great competition with perfect conditions producing some fast times at Champion Lakes in Perth.


Wallace and Tame defend K2 200 National title

Kenny Wallace and Lachlan Tame successfully defended their K2 200 title after producing a fast time of 33.59 to finish 0.25 seconds ahead of Jesse Phillips and Steve Bird.

While their focus lies on the 1000 metre distance both men enjoy getting the chance to race the shorter sprint distance.

“I think we have a bit of fun in the K2, we keep it fun and interesting and obviously go hard in every race we have got and we just tell ourselves it is the last 200 metres of the 1000 now and to kick it home,” Tame said. 

Callum Dunn and Ben McLean (pictured) finished third in 34.50 to take out the under-23 title.

“It turned out pretty good, it was a bit difficult with the wind and we didn’t get out as well as we could but it was a pretty good race all in all and we will keep trying to push it with those top guys so it is going alright at the moment I think,” McLean said.

In the other open men’s events NSWIS kayaker Simon McTavish won the K1 500 A final in 1:40.39, 0.33 seconds ahead of Sunshine Coast paddler Bill Bain.

“I want to make the under-23 team this year and race well. I have dropped a lot of time off my times last year so I am pretty happy,” McTavish said.

McTavish was pleased to receive his medal from London Olympic gold medallist Murray Stewart.

“I train with him everyday so I guess I look up to him a fair bit, he is a good role modal so it was great to receive my medal from him,” McTavish said.

Fabio Wyss of Switzerland finished a close third in 1:40.91.

Wyss also featured in the men’s K2 500 heats. He won his heat alongside Rob McIntyre to secure a place in Sunday’s A final.

The second heat was won by South Australian pair Sean Lohse and Jayden Ellis.


Marinov and Szekszardi win C2 1000 race-off

Martin Marinov and Ferenc Szekszardi have won the third and final C2 1000 Olympic nomination trial at the National Canoe Sprint Championships in Perth on Saturday

The pair recorded a time of 4:06.30 to finish 3.22 seconds ahead of West Lakes pair Jason Nejman and Marius Florian.

The victory sees them move a step closer to their Rio dream after winning two out of three nomination trials.In other canoe results, Jace Bayliss and Sebastian Wakim took out the men’s C2 500 National title in 2:06.33, 3.39 sec ahead of Adrian LeBlanc and Thomas

In other canoe results, Jace Bayliss and Sebastian Wakim took out the men’s C2 500 National title in 2:06.33, 3.39 sec ahead of Adrian LeBlanc and Thomas Clarken.

Isabella Rositano and Josephine Bulmer won the women’s C2 500 title in 2:25.22.

Bayliss and Wakim later completed the C2 double with victory over 200 in 46.35.

West Lakes continued their excellent day of racing with Charlie Ellis triumphing in the C1 500 final ahead of Bayliss and Wakim.


Paracanoe results

In paracanoe, Curtis McGrath (KL2), Dylan Littlehales (KL3) and Colin Sieders (KL1) have taken out the men’s PC K1 500 titles after finishing first, second and fourth in the multi-class final.

Amanda Reynolds took out the women’s K1 500 multi-class final in 2:23.95 to take out the KL3. Susan Seipel finished second to win KL2 class in 2:30.35.

McGrath and Seipel later completed the double with victory in the V1 500.


Junior results

Noah Cameron completed the under-18 200 metre double with victory in the K2 final alongside Tom Green.

They recorded a time of 37.44, 1.30 seconds ahead of Oliver James and Joshua Jones-Rew.

James later went one better by winning the K1 500 final in 141:08, 1.48 seconds ahead of Reece Bacchus.

Local Bayswater product Luke Morton collected the bronze in 1:43.82.

The under-18 women’s K2 200 final was won by Jayde Bagnall and Ella Beere.

A full junior wrap of Saturday’s results will be published on Sunday morning.



You might also like