Canoe Slalom / Canoe Sprint / Featured / General / Nov 20, 2015

The NSWIS Awards were held at the Sydney Cricket Ground on Thursday with multiple Australian Canoeing athletes and coaches in attendance and nominated for awards.

Canoe slalom was nominated for ‘Sydney Olympic Park Authority Program of the Year’ following the success of NSWIS paddlers including Lucien Delfour and Jessica Fox on the international circuit in 2015.

Delfour won back-to-back World Cup K1 bronze medals in France and Spain, while Fox continued her rise up the ICF world rankings to finish the year as the number one ranked K1 and C1 women’s paddler.

Fox’s strong performances saw her nominated for the ‘Sydney City Toyota Athlete of the Year’.

The 21 year old produced a consistent season, finishing fourth at the ICF World Championships in London to secure an Olympic quota for Australia. Fox also joined elite company in winning her third straight C1 world title.

Her Mother, Myriam Fox was nominated for ‘Coach of the Year’.

Avoca sprint paddling pair Lachlan Tame (pictured) and Riley Fitzsimmons were each nominated for the ‘ClubNSW Male Athlete of the Year’ and ‘Office of Sport Regional Athlete of the Year’.

Tame teamed up with Ken Wallace to win their second consecutive K2 1000 silver medal at the ICF sprint World Championships in Milan.

While 2015 was a breakout year for Fitzsimmons, making his senior team debut in the World Cup series before going on to secure a spot in the K4 1000 boat at the World Championships. The Australian quad finished fourth in the A final, with Fitzsimmons helped secure four Olympic quotas in the process.

Fitzsimmons also combined with Jordan Wood to win gold in the K2 1000 at the under-23 World Championships.

Unfortunately none of the listed nominees claimed the ultimate prize but they are to be congratulated for their dedication and achievements in 2015.

Award Nominees

  • Canoe Slalom – Sydney Olympic Park Authority Program of the Year
  • Jessica Fox – Sydney City Toyota Athlete of the Year
  • Myriam Fox – Coach of the Year
  • Riley Fitzsimmons – ClubNSW Male Athlete of the Year / Office of Sport Regional Athlete of the Year
  • Lachlan Tame – ClubNSW Male Athlete of the Year / Office of Sport Regional Athlete of the Year


Tags: , , ,

You might also like