NSW Open Sprint Championships Review

General / Jan 20, 2014

As expected the senior national paddlers dominated with Murray Stewart, Jo Brigden-Jones and Lachlan Tame leading the way for their respective clubs.

Representing Manly Warringah, Stewart dominated the coveted men’s K1 1000 on Saturday winning in 3:31.00, more than four seconds ahead of the field.

Gold Coast duo Jacob Clear and Jordan Wood fought it out for the minor placing’s with the Olympian Clear edging the U23 paddler by 0.12 seconds.

Teenager Jy Duffy continued his encouraging start to the New Year finishing fourth.

Stewart and Clear later combined to win the K2 1000 final. 

The experienced senior pair dominated the field from the centre lane.  They recorded a time of 3:15.58 to finish 7.22 seconds ahead of fellow K4 senior paddler David Smith and Western Australian Daniel Bowker.

Queensland duo Bill Bain and Joel McKitterick finished third.

Brothers Canoe Club duo Alex Haas and Jake Donaghey returned for their first competitive race in over a year after taking a break from racing in 2013 to focus on their studies.

Haas held off his fellow C2 Olympian to win in 4:22.40, 2.18 seconds ahead of Donaghey.

Varsity Lakes’ canoeist Rain Metsoja finished a distant third.

The 500 metre events followed the 1000 metre distance with Sydney Northern Beaches Olympian Jo Brigden-Jones completing the double.

Brigden-Jones recorded the only sub two minute time to win the K1 500 final in 1:57.10, 5.68 seconds ahead of Hannah Minogue.

Sunshine Coast kayaker Coco Howcroft finished third, 2.83 seconds behind Minogue.

The 25 year old then combined with Minogue to win the K2 500 final, 8.13 seconds ahead of Howcroft and Deeandra Godoy of Sydney Northern Beaches.

On Sunday the 200 metre events were contested with local star Lachlan Tame taking out the men’s K1 200 final.

In a spirited display the 25 year old held off Scott Bicknell to record the victory in 36.01.

Bicknell finished 0.65 seconds behind Tame with Sydney Northern Beaches’ kayaker Ben McLean showing promising signs to finish third.

Bicknell went one better in the K2 200 final combining with Andrew Roy to win in 33.46.

Robert McIntyre and Mark Stowe finished second 1.74 seconds behind the winning time.

The men’s C1 200 final was won by West lakes canoeist Jace Bayliss after Haas and Donaghey withdrew from the event.

Bayliss won in 48.52, 0.82 seconds ahead of Metsoja with Manly’s Gavin Godfrey taking home the bronze.

In the final open event of the Championships Brigden-Jones capped off a perfect weekend recording victory in the K1 200 final.

She won in 41.86, 2.36 seconds ahead of Minogue.

Canoe slalom star Jessica Fox demonstrated her versatility finishing third, 2.60 seconds behind Brigden-Jones.

Paracanoe athletes also featured in Penrith with two-time Australian Canoeing Athlete of the Year Kara Kennedy winning the arms only V1 200 final.

Windsor’s Glenn Pyne and Brock Ingram of Bayswater won their respective V1 and K1 200 events.

Please follow the link below for results.