2013 Australian Canoeing Awards Dinner

General / Nov 4, 2013

The event was hosted by sprint athlete Bernadette Wallace, who won 2 World Cup gold medals this year, and by Jez Jezz, Chair of the AC Freestyle Technical Committee and bronze medalist at the 2013 Freestyle World Championships.

In attendance on the evening were the AC board, Fiona Scott MP, Ray Williams MP & Ross Fowler, mayor of Penrith, amongst others.

Awards were presented in 16 categories, to the following winners:

Coach of the Year – Jimmy Owens and Myriam Fox

Master Canoeist of the Year – Julie Jenkinson

Award of Merit – Andrea Wood, Bruce Cameron, Jez and Matthew Heard

Excellence Award – Anthea Courtney

Photo of the Year – Sarah Woolford

Technical Official of the Year – Mark Murray

Service to Canoeing – Peter Grant

ParaCanoeist of the Year – Kara Kennedy

Junior Canoeist of the Year (Non Olympic) – Sebastian Spinks

Junior Canoeist of the Year (Olympic) – Rebecca Mann

Team of the Year – Junior Women C1 (Georgia Rankin, Noemie

Fox and Alexandra Broome)

Canoeist of the Year (Non Olympic) – Michael Leverett

Canoeist of the Year (Olympic) – Ken Wallace and Jessica Fox

Peoples Choice Award – Ken Wallace

Special Recognition – Jim Murphy

Presidents Award – Helen Brownlee

The dinner was held alongside the AC strategic forum and AGM, which took place over three days.

Congratulations to all our award winners, and to our extended canoeing family on a fantastic year.

Follow the links below for more photos and a full list of shortlisted award nominees.