Eildon hosts 2013 National Championships

Canoe Slalom / Jan 8, 2013

Except for Kynan Maley, all of our London Olympic stars will take to the water for the first time this year as national titles go on the line.


London silver medallist Jessica Fox will be a big target as fellow paddlers look to knock her off her perch after her Olympic success, but is looking forward to racing.

ÒItÕs good to be back in Eildon and racing here will be a nice change to Penrith,Ó Fox said. ÒIt is a flatter course and IÕm looking forward to seeing how I go.Ó


The Championships at Eildon are the first chance for all athletes to set benchmark performances and check out the competition ahead of National selection.


Beginning on Thursday and carrying through to Saturday, the competition forms the basis of the first selection event for the National Junior teams, and completes selection for the National Talent Squad that will tour New Zealand in March.


Following on from the National Schools Championship last weekend there will be a big junior presence in Eildon, with fierce competition from all around the country as the state federations Western Australia, Tasmania and Victoria are each bringing large, highly competitive squads.


The 2013 Australian Slalom Championships this year will be a modified finals format with all age group champions to be decided on the normal 2 runs per event, with the best run counting.


For the overall Australian Champion in each category there will be a finals race of one run, with the top 12 K1 and C1 and top 10 C2 paddlers from all age groups competing in the Finals on Saturday morning, 12 January.

The Interstate Teams Event will be hosted as a warm-up event on the 9th January. Details are available via the event website link below.


January 10
8:30-12:30pm Session 1 – C1, WK1 (Runs 1 & 2)
2:00-5:00pm Session 2 Ð Mixed C2, WC1 (Runs 1 & 2)
6:00pm Presentation

January 11
8.30 Ð 12.30pm Session 1 Ð K1, WC2 (Runs 1 & 2)
1:00-4:00pm Session 2 Ð C2
6:00pm Presentation

January 12
10:00 Ð 12:30pm Australian Slalom Championships Final

All Classes Order of finals: C1/WK1/K1/WC1/C2/WC2/MC2
K1 & C1 Events: Top 12 Australian Paddlers plus any Internationals in top 12.
C2 Events: Top 10 Australian Paddlers plus any Internationals in top 10.