Bain and Reynolds top rankings as AYOF Sprint Team Announced

General / Dec 9, 2012

Bill Bain (QLD) and Shannon Reynolds (WA) topped the respective male and female selection rankings following the AYOF Selection Event at the Australian Canoeing GP1 in Adelaide over the weekend.

Bain won the K1 1000m by an impressive margin in difficult conditions while Reynolds held off late challenges to take out both the K1 500m and K1 200m women’s events in close finishes.

Australian Canoeing selected a total of 16 athletes (8 men and 8 women) to compete in the AYOF canoe sprint events which take place in Penrith from 16-18 January 2013.

Athletes were selected based on points scored in the best three out of four designated events which meant athletes had to demonstrate ability in crew boat events as well as performance in individual events to make the cut.

"There were some very good performances over the weekend and some close finishes as athletes stepped up to the mark for selection and there is no doubt we have selected a strong team" said Dave Foureur, the National Elite Development Manager and Chairman of Selectors for the AYOF.

National Performance Director, Richard Fox, said "after a break of four years, it is good to see the AYOF event back on the map and it will be a great experience for our team of athletes to race teams from China, Brazil, Japan, Hungary and New Zealand at the start of a big year with junior and Under 23 world championships to follow in July".

The following Athletes have been selected to the 2013 Australian Youth Olympic Festival Team

Kayak Men

Bill Bain QLD

Charlie Copeland QLD 

Jordan Wood QLD  

Ben McLean NSW

Victor Gebarski SA

Sean Lohse SA

Peter Elford QLD

Kieren Carsen VIC

Canoe Men

Sam Sheppard QLD

Kayak Women   

Shannon Reynolds WA

Rebecca Mann VIC

Deandra Godoy NSW        

Coco Howcroft QLD          

Madison Davies SA                  

Rachel Duncan NSW          

Tara McAleenan QLD          

Madeleine Batters VIC

Australian Canoeing Selection Panel: David Foureur, Andrea Wood, Mark O’Brien

Team Officials

Australian Canoeing has appointed the following officials to the 2013 AYOF Canoe Sprint Team

Team Manager: Kevin Crisp

Team Coaches: Christine Duff, Anna Wood, Chris Alagich