Canoe Slalom and Canoe Sprint win silver and bronze for TV coverage at London 2012

General / Dec 3, 2012

 The event which was held by the International Olympic Committee (IOC) honoured broadcasters for their outstanding coverage of the London 2012 Olympic Games.

ICF President Jose Perurena said, “The TV coverage of Canoeing at London 2012 played a major role in the success of our competitions at the Olympic Games, and winning these two awards rounds up what has been a standout year for our sport and Federation.”
Entries were reviewed by an international jury headed by IOC Member and Chairman of the Coordination Commission for London 2012, Denis Oswald. The winners received their prizes in Lausanne in the presence of IOC President Jacques Rogge. Members of the IOC Radio and Television Commission were also in attendance, along with representatives from the rights-holding broadcasters, the Organising Committees for the Olympic Games in London, Sochi and Rio, International Federations and the city of Lausanne.

Gold, silver and bronze trophies were awarded in five categories: Best Olympic Sports Production by Olympic Broadcasting Services, Best On Air Promotion, Best Olympic Feature, Best Athlete Profile and Best Olympic Programme.

Created in 1976, the Olympic Golden Rings is a prestigious international contest through which the IOC seeks to promote and recognise excellence in television broadcasting of the Olympic Games. The contest is organised every two years, on the occasion of the Summer and Winter Games, under the aegis of the IOC Radio and Television Commission.

The full list of awards (title / director / producer), in order of presentation on the night, was as follows:

The Best Olympic Sports Production by Olympic Broadcasting Services (OBS)
Gold: Sailing / Christopher Lincoln / Gary Milkis, Ursula Romero
Silver: Canoe Kayak-Slalom / Jaime Garrido Rubira / Ursula Romero
Bronze: Rowing & Canoe/Kayak-Sprint / Matthew Coliandris / Makoto Nakamura

The Best On Air Promotion
Gold: NBC “The Games of the XXX Olympiad – NBC On-Air Promotion” / John Miller / Joseph Lee, Roger Guillen
Silver: Foxtel “Foxtel on Platform TVC” / Ash Bolland / Graham Burrells, Chantal Walker
Bronze: ZDF “Olympia Live” / Anke Scholten / Severine Rapp

Special Award
“MDS” Multi Channel Distribution Service / Kostas Kapatais, Jorge Pickering

The Best Olympic Feature
Gold: NBC Olympic